News Ticker

Mercia Report 02-08-2015

Mercia CC

Mercia & Derby Mercury Cyclists compete in time trials from 10 miles to 24 hours.

This report concentrates on time trialling, starting with the Mersey Roads Road Club’s National 24 hour Championship held on Cheshire and Shropshire roads based on the village of Farndon on the river Dee in Cheshire. Jim Hopper (Derby Mercury R C) a regular competitor on his tricycle found the weather conditions tough with a strong wind and heavy rain on the Sunday morning. Jim did well on his tricycle to record 345 miles the highest mileage on a tricycle in the event, to finish in 45th place out of the 105 riders who entered the time trial. Solo rider Michael Broadwith (Arctic Tacx Racing Team) from Berkhamstead Hertfordshire covered 537.35 miles, a fantastic mileage considering the conditions. He was only 3.42 miles off breaking the competition record of 541.17 miles held by Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) in 2011. It was the 2nd longest distance for a 24 hour time trial. He also finished with 33 miles more than the 2nd placed rider.

In the much shorter distance of 25 miles, Jack Hugill timed 57 07 in the Melton Olympic event held on the A46 (Fosse Way) Between East Stoke, Stragglethorp and Farndon in the counties of Nottingham and Lincolnshire. Conditions were windy, Jack finished in 27th place out of 101 finishers. James Perkins (Team Zenith G,C. Cycles) was the fastest in 51 30.

Tony Marlow on the same day chose the Rugby Road Club’s 10 mile time trial on the Thurcaston Ryton on Dunsmore A45 course. Again, there was a strong headwind on the return leg from Ryton on the hilly part of the course. Tony was hoping for a better time than the 25 02 he recorded he finished in 88th place out of 135 starters. The almost unbeatable Matthew Bottrill ( was the winner in 19 03.

Fourteen riders signed on to race in the 10 mile evening time trial on the Anslow circuit, in cold conditions. Like the previous 10 mile time trial a rider, Noel Adams, this time did not start due to a puncture. The fastest rider was Jason Seabridge, the previous weeks puncture victim in 23 45. 2nd was Hayden Smedley in 24 09 and 3rd was Pascal Arnoux (Cadence Sport) in 25 59. The rest of the riders and times were as follows – Ben Startin 26 02, Jeff Slinn 27 10, Alfie Jollands 27 16, Andy Stewart 28 01,Tony Marlow 28 11, Luke Slater 30 25 (a personal best) Nick Marriott 30 42, Adrian Waters 31 39, Owen Heath 31 45 and David Peters 18 38 at 1 lap. The first 3 on handicap were Luke Slater 22 10 , Owen Heath 22 45 and Adrian Waters 22 54.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.