News Ticker

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Report 18.04.19

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles report 18.04.19.

Round 2 of the Mallory Park Youth Road Race League was held at the Leicestershire racing circuit with strong winds making it hard work for the youngster on the long open straights. Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Under 12 riders Daniel Ward & Sam Parker rode with Ward finishing lower down the field than normal in 11th place and Parker in 12th. The winner for the second week was Mathew Kent of VC Lincoln.

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Under 14 rider faired better when finishing in 4th place close behind winner Joshua Williams of Matlock CC.

Ward had a busy weekend riding on both Saturday and Sunday at Darley Moor near Ashbourne. At the Saturday race hosted by Ashfield RC he finished in 5th place behind the winner Max Hinds of Wyre Forest CRC and in 6th place in Sundays race hosted by Matlock CC.

A round of the East Midlands Rad Race League was held on the tough Hanbury circuit over 80km. This is a tough race for 2nd, 3rd & 4th Category riders with many riders being unable to complete the course. Darren Rider of PB Performance rode well to finish in 14th place. The winner was Robert Rogers of Loughborough Students CC.

A new course based on the A50 road in Derbyshire was used by the BDCA for a 25 mile Time Trial and proved to be quick and liked by the riders. The early season conditions were cold with strong winds at times. Jason Seabridge of Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles had a good ride and was 19th overall and 10th Veteran in the time of 52minutes 49 seconds, the winner was Andy Jackson of Aerocoach with a time of 48:48. In the ladies event on the same course, Mercia’s Anne Staley rode her first event of the season and finished with a time of 1:12:25 The winning lady was Keri Parton of Pro Vision Cycle Clothing in the time of 58:18 the only female to go under the hour mark.

The Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles club evening Time Trial held over 10 miles on the Anslow circuit took place in slightly warmer conditions than the first two events and was again well supported. The fastest time of 23:12. was posted by Lee Aston Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles. Jonathan Hornblow of Leisure Lakes was second in 23:36 and Haydn Smedley of DTC/Mercia was 3rd in 24:21. Other riders times were as follows and all Mercia unless noted otherwise. Jason Seabridge 24:34. David Clarke Interbike 24:47. Andy Wray 25:10, Ben Startin 25:40, Eryk Woronowicx 25:47, Jeff Slinn 27:24, Simon Parker 27:57, Liam Mewis (Youth) 29:41, Adrian Waters 32:29 & at one lap, David Peters 19:23.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.