News Ticker

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Report 11.04.19

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles report 11.04.19.

A newcomer to cycle racing Liam Mewis of Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles has trained at the Derby Velodrome to earn his Accreditation and the right to race. Riding in the Youth section the 15 year old has had good success whilst learning all the technical aspects of track cycling. In only his 2nd race he finished in 7th place out of the 25 entrants in the 10 mile scratch race. Given that he was racing against riders with much more experience the result was well earned and justified him getting his first British Cycling points. In his next event, the Keirin, he was unlucky in the qualifying to be involved in a crash which pushed him into the Minor finals. A good effort which showed what might have been, put him in 2nd place and optimism for next winters racing.

Round 1 of the Mallory Park Youth Road Race League recently took place. The can be very windy at this time of the year making it hard for the young riders. Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Under 12 riders Daniel Ward & Sam Parker featured well in the opening Scratch Race. Ward finished in 7th and Parker in 13th. The winner was Mathew Kent of VC Lincoln.

The next event was for the Under 14’s with Zak Machin competing for Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles. Machin favours the longer events but this shorter distance didn’t stop him crossing the line in a fine 4th place behind winner Adam Lea of Team MK.

Mercia’s Veteran Time Trial riders found the going tough at the Melton Olympic CC 25 mile Time Trial held on the A46 in Nottinghamshire. The long return section was into a strong headwind and cold conditions, not helped by being predominantly uphill, made it hard for all riders. Jason Seabridge was 13th overall and 6th Veteran in the time of 55minutes 26 seconds and Ben Startin was the 36th finisher (26th Veteran & 8th age group Veteran) with a time of 59:31. The overall winner was Michael Smith of Raw Sport in the time of 51:07. There were 68 finishers.

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles held their second club evening Time Trial of the year over 5 miles on the Anslow circuit. The strong wind and the consistently rough road surface strewn with potholes throughout again made it difficult for the riders.

A good number of riders saw Lee Aston finish with the fastest time of 12:10. Haydn Smedley and Sean Sleigh followed closely behind with 12:42 & 12:51 respectively. Other riders times were Andy Wray 13:12, Rob Gower 13:23, Ben Lambert 13:56, Chris Reading 14:10, James Allen 14:44, Liam Mewis (Youth) 15:46, Mark Eccleston 16:10, Tom Sharp 17:10, Adrian Waters 17:38 & David Peters 20:25.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.