News Ticker

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles Report 10.10.19

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles report 10.10.19.

Round 3 of the Notts Derby Cyclo Cross League took place at Alfreton Park, hosted by Belper CC. The day was fine and dry but after a week of heavy rain the undulating course was very boggy and slippery in places. In the Under 12 category Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles duo of Daniel Ward and Sam Parker were both in fine form. Ward was in 3rd place for much of the race but slipped back to 7th on the last lap. Parker had his best result to date when, despite taking a heavy fall on the last lap he still managed to cross the line in 11th position. Jacob Steed of Sherwood Pines Cycles Forme was the winner.

Other Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles riders took part in the Veteran classes, Oliver Parker again rode well, finishing in 22nd place in the V40 category behind the winner James Furniss of Zepnatt RT-Lazer Helmets. Adrian Waters took first place in the V70 class. Julie Tipper continued to improve and took a fine 2nd place in the ladies V50 where the winner was Elizabeth Bridgen of Ilkeston CC.

Unattached rider Christian Aucote had a fine ride in the Senior mens race on his adapted mountain bike. After a hard race where he was always challenging hard he crossed the line in 4th place behind the winner Stefan Partridge of Bolsover & District CC.

The following day in the West Midlands League at Henley in Arden, Daniel Ward was always in the mix for a podium place and duly delivered finishing in 3rd spot behind George Cooper of Sherwood Pines Cycles – Forme. His Dad, Gary, a former MTB rider had his first Cyclo Cross race in what were far from ideal conditions. The mud stuck to every part of the bike and rider making it very difficult for him having only one bike. Never the less he rode very well, particularly the technical sections and he finished well up the V40 field in 18th place.

Mercia CC-Lloyds Cycles held its final TT event of the season, a short hill climb up Woodruff’s hill Marchington. The event was well supported with 11 riders. Dan Partington successfully defended his title in the time of 1 minute 05 seconds, taking 7 seconds off his previous winning time. Times were very close with David Clarke in second place with a time of 1:09 & Ben Lambert in third place in 1:11. Other riders times were Rob Gower 1:13, tied in 5th place were youth riders Zak Machin & Liam Mewis 1:14, James Elliott 1:16, Dave Lovatt 1:26, Tony Mewis 1:34, Toby Elliott 1:43 & Darren Nichols 1:47.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.